New Arrivals: SHOP HERE
Marimekko, iittala and more modern Finnish design.
FREE Shipping on Orders of $75+. *DETAILS HERE
Armas Järnefelt - Orchestral Works

Armas Järnefelt - Orchestral Works

Sorry, this item is no longer available. Please shop for other items.

  • Q & A
Armas Järnefelt (1869-1958) was a member of a family which made a profound mark on Finnish culture. One of his brothers was a painter, and another an author - and their sister Aino married Sibelius.For Armas, whose chosen field was music, the close proximity of Sibelius must have been quite overpowering - in old age he himself spoke of the stifling influence of Sibelius's unique genius. Maybe this is one reason why Järnefelt's most ambitious compositions were written in relatively close succession in the 1890s, just around the time when Sibelius had his first great break-through, and also why he soon changed direction and became a conductor first and foremost.

Completed in the spring of 1893, Järnefelt's Serenade was composed in Paris, and the French influence - especially that of his teacher Massenet - can be clearly heard. Its six movements encompass a wide variety of moods, with many instrumental solos adding touches of colour, for instance in the emotionally charged Adagio for violin and strings.

Two year's later, in the Symphonic Fantasy, composed after a momentous visit to Bayreuth, the influences are rather Wagnerian, and especially obvious in the central slow section with its clear reminiscences of Parsifal.

The program closes with Berceuse for violin and orchestra, which in 1904 marked the end of Järnefelt's most active period as a composer for orchestra. The piece is a beautifully atmospheric miniature which has found a place in concerts of lighter music all over the world. (information from BIS Records)


1. Symphonic Fantasy (1895)

Suite in E flat major (1897)
2. Andantino
3. Adagio quasi andante
4. Presto
5. Lento assai
6. Allegro feroce

Serenade (1893)
7. Allegretto quasi marcia
8. Andante espressivo
9. Adagio
10. Allegretto
11. Sostenuto
12. Allegro vivace

13. Berceuse for violin and orchestra (1904)
  • ITEM #: QI001753
  • Runtime: 77 minutes
  • Release Date: 2010
FEATURED CATEGORIESiittala Dinnerwareiittala Glasswareiittala Flatware & Serving Utensilsiittala Kitcheniittala Alvar Aalto VasesOiva Toikka Birdsiittala Candle Holdersview allSALEiittala Sale
FEATURED CATEGORIESMarimekko BeddingMarimekko FabricMarimekko DiningMarimekko Bags & PursesMarimekko BathMarimekko KitchenMarimekko Throw Pillowsview allSALEMarimekko Sale
DININGDinnerwareiittala Flatware & Serving Utensilsiittala GlasswareServing PiecesServing Pitchers, Jugs, & Carafesview allKITCHENCookwareServing PiecesKitchen ToolsKitchen Tea Towels and DishclothsAprons, Oven Mitts, & Pot HoldersFiskars Kitchen Knivesview all
BED & BATHMarimekko BeddingBlanketsFinnish Bath TowelsMarimekko Shower CurtainsMarimekko Bathrobes & SlippersHOME ACCENTSFinnish Vases & Plant PotsThrow Pillows, Blankets, & RugsCandles & Candle HoldersOffice & StationeryFinnish Booksview allFURNISHINGSArtek FurnitureFinnish Lightingview allFabricMarimekko FabricPentik Fabric & Bags
SAUNA ACCESORIESSauna Buckets & LadlesSauna Thermometers & HygrometersSauna Signs & Light Fixtures Sauna Seat Covers & CushionsSauna Bath Towels & Wash TextilesSauna Oils & ScentsSOAP & SKINCARESauna Soap & SkincareLumene
JewelryKalevala Jewelryaarikka JewelryPohjolan HelmiFinnFeelings Jewelryview allAccessoriesLapuan Kankurit Scarves & ShawlsMarimekko SocksChildren's SocksMarimekko ScarvesMarimekko Umbrellasview allBags & PursesMarimekko Bags & Purses
FEATURED BRANDSArtekiittalaFazerFinlaysonLapuan KankuritMarimekkoPentikview all
About Us Contact Us My Account Shipping Information Order Tracking Frequently Asked Questions Return Policy Privacy Policy Gift Registry Trade Program